Goalpara, Assam - 783121


Goalpara Polytechnic is one of the 11 new polytechnics (PACKAGE NO. POLY-14) starting their session from 1st August 2017 (2017-18). It is located on a sprawling area of 30 Bighas (9.17 Acres) of land at East Goalpara of Goalpara District and D N Singha Stadium in the west, Beltola Chariali in the north, ITI- Goalpara in the south and green residential area in the east. It is 20 minutes away from the Goalpara Town Railway Station and 10 minutes away from the bus stand. The location of the institute is very beautiful and surrounded by greenery. The Goalpara Polytechnic got AICTE approval for the diploma courses of Civil, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering vide Letter No: F. No. Eastern/2017/1-3399607211 Date 30-April-2017.

On 2011, Government of Assam has decided to establish 21 new polytechnics in 21 districts as per centrally funded scheme and one new polytechnic at Titabor, Jorhat under State Funded scheme. For theses 21 polytechnics, Additional Secretary to the Government of Assam, Higher Education Department has requested The Commissioner & Special Secretary to Government of Assam, PWD (Building and NH) to furnish DPR (for Civil Work) of Rs. 8.00 Core on 10th October, 2011.

Cost of construction and procurement of Laboratory equipments, furniture etc are as under vide Memo No ATE.34/2011/Pt/62 Dated Dispur the 10th October, 2011 and Memo No PMA(H)185/2016/163-A Dated Dispur the 30th November, 2016 are:

Civil Works = 8.00 Crores
Laboratory Equipments = 358.96579 Lakhs
Furnitures = 56.03421 Lakhs
Library Books = 15.00 Lakhs
Total = 12.30 Crores (1st Phase)

Sl. No. District Place
1. Dhubri Golokganj
2. Goalpara Goalpara East
3. Barpeta Barpeta Town
4. Nalbari Nalbari, LAC
5. Darrang Mongoldoi Town
6. Marigaon Morigaon Town
7. Sonitpur Dhekiajuli
8. Lakhimpur Bihpuria
9. Dhemaji Silapathar
10. Tinsukia Tinsukia Town
11. Sibsagar Sibsagar Town
12. Dima Hasao (N.C. Hills) Haflong
13. Karimganj Karimganj Town
14. Hailakandi Katlichara
15. Udalguri As per decided by BTC
16. Chirrang As per decided by BTC
17. Baksa As per decided by BTC
18. Kamrup Rural Baihata Chariali
19. Nagaon Raha
20. Golaghat Golaghat Sadar
21. Karbi Anglong Baithalangsu

Among all the mentioned polytechnics, this year (2017-18), 11 new polytechnics will commence their session (Districts with bold and italics in the table above). Goalpara Polytechnic is one of these 11 new polytechnics with intake capacity of 180 students (60 in each branch).


Goalpara Polytechnic is located in Goalpara East in the Goalpara District. It's in 10 minutes away from the main town. The 1st phase construction work is 100% completed. The work structure as on July 2017 is as follows:

Physical Progress of Goalpara Polytechnic

Sl. No. Item Physical Progress Remarks
Civil Works
a) Institute Building Academic 100%
b) Institute Building Administrative 100%
c) Girls Hostel 100%
d) Workshop Building 100%
e) Principal Quarter 100%
f) Boundary Wall(280.00m) 100%
g) Deep tubewell boring 100%
Electrical Works
h) Internal Electrification 98% Some light fitting to be done
i) External Electrification 98% Transformer charging yet to be done

Financial Progress of Goalpara Polytechnic: Rs. 7,00,40,738.00

Additional Estimate Submitted for the following work:

Sl. No. Item Estimated Amount (Rs.)
a. Boys Hostel 1,23,66,229.47
b. Twin type fourth Gr. Quarter 12,26,710.55
c. Interlocking Block Approach 56,32,666.06
d. Boundary/Compound Wall 82,78,113.82
e. Main Outlet Drain 7,54,107.70
f. Site Development 3,57,340.00
g. AC Machine in Seminar Hall(Administrative Building) 3,14,000.00
h. External Electrificaton 16,20,510.00

Additional Estimate Amount: Rs. 3,05,49,677.60